The Maghreb


Society • Religion Society • Crime

Eps 9: The Maghreb


As recently as the late 19th century, the term "Maghreb" was used to refer to the Western Mediterranean region of coastal North Africa and to Algeria, Morocco and Tunisia, in particular.
Christians of Berber or Arab descent now live in France than in Greater Maghreb.
The Sahara extends across northern Africa from the Atlantic Ocean to the Red Sea.

Seed data: Link 1, Link 2, Link 3, Link 4, Link 5
Host image: StyleGAN neural net
Content creation: GPT-2, transformers, CTRL


Jerry Wright

Jerry Wright

Podcast Content
The Maghreb is usually defined as much of North Africa, including much of Africa's Sahara, and is defined as the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia. Although the traditional definition of the term "Maghreb" is limited to the eastern part of Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Morocco and parts of Syria, it has expanded to the disputed territories of Libya and Egypt, as well as to other regions such as Syria and Iraq. It excludes what is considered the Mashreq or "eastern part" of the Arab world in the western and eastern Mediterranean.
Arab invaders from the East arrived in the seventh century AD, when they conquered large parts of North Africa. Under the rule of the Berber kingdom of Numidia, the region was somewhat united, but an independent political entity. The Roman Empire took control of most of this region, sparing only a small part of its territory, but not the whole.
Although the invasion was originally religiously motivated, it acquired a political dimension in the seventh century AD with the arrival of the Arabs from the East.
Arab domination of the Maghreb began to wane in the early 16th century, when the Turks succeeded in gaining control of Egypt in 1517. The Turkish occupation of this territory formed a basis for the Western expansion into North Africa, although Egypt was not normally part of the "Maghrereb" region. Once in control of the region, the Turks appointed many political regentiles, whose names are associated with modern Africa as "modern Africa," including Algeria, Tunisia, and Tripoli.
Turkish troops, however, were unable to subdue Morocco, which remained an independent state under Turkish control. During this period, the Berber world was mostly divided into three states, roughly corresponding to the regions of what is now Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya, as well as the Maghreb.
In the 19th century, France, Spain, and later Italy colonized areas of the Maghreb, and several waves of European immigrants influenced the population. Many of the people living in France today live in Algeria and Morocco, as well as in Tunisia and Libya.
Local Jews also live in France, as well as in Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Tunisia and Libya and in Egypt.
The area is designated as designated territory under the auspices of the UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights in the Middle East and North Africa.
Jews and Muslims tend to live side by side, and Jews from other parts of the Middle East and North Africa have also settled in Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, and Libya. The Arab Maghreb Union was established by Algeria , Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia to promote cooperation and economic integration in the common market.
The Union implicitly included Western Sahara in Morocco's membership, but ultimately had only one member, the Republic of Morocco, and a small number of non-member states.
Tensions between Algeria, Morocco and Western Sahara have flared up again in recent years, exacerbated by the unresolved border dispute between the two countries. The growing cross-border security threat posed by the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant has revived calls for regional cooperation.
But the calm may not last long, and events have at least shaken Algeria and Morocco. The Maghreb is the starting point of the conflict between Algeria, Morocco and Western Sahara and the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria , which has reached its most dangerous stage.
The region includes Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia and Libya, all of which are part of the Middle East and North Africa, the Maghreb region. After gaining independence from the colonial rulers in the 1950s and 1960s, they pursued a policy of self-determination, with the exception of Western Sahara, where they share territory with Algeria.
In addition, the Maghreb includes the disputed territories of Western Sahara, largely controlled by the self-proclaimed Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic of Sahara , and Western Sahara, a Mediterranean region largely under Morocco's control but controlled from Spain. In Berber, "Tamazgha" refers to the land traditionally inhabited by Berbers, and "Maghreb" is also written as "Maghrib."
Once it included Moorish Spain, today it mainly includes Morocco, Algeria, Mauritania, Tunisia, Egypt, Libya, and parts of Tunisia and Egypt.
The weather in the Maghreb is characterized by prevailing westerly winds that release most of the moisture from the northern slopes, leaving little to the southern slopes to sustain the desert scrubbing that turns south into the true Saharan desert. The mag hreb, which in Arabic is called "Maghrib" , which means "Western," is the region of Morocco, Algeria, Mauritania, Tunisia, Egypt, and Libya, which is specifically covered by the Atlas Mountains.
It is derived from the meaning "set, to be hidden" and is used in English as a metaphorical use of "to be eclipsed." It is also used to mean "to put, to hide" in Arabic and also in French.